Obina van de Kampert Named 2017 Belgian Warmblood Mare Champion

Wed, 10/18/2017 - 10:00
Belgian Warmblood Breeding News

Obina van de Kampert was named the winnr of the 2017 Belgian Warmblood Mare Championship held in Broechem, Belgium, on 14 October 2017. The Dundee M x Contango offspring won the 3-year old championship.

Obina van de Kampert is bred by stud farm De Kampert in Grote Brogel, Belgium, and is by the KWPN stallion Dundee M out of Sabina van de Kampert (by Contango). 

The 3-year old reserve champion was Bart van den Eynde's filly Olympic Aroma Krack, who is by Ampere out of Romantic Krack van het Klaverhof (by Don Romantic). Six mares contested the 3-year old division. 

The 2017 Belgian Warmblood Mare Championship also featured filly divisions for older and younger mares.

The 2-year old filly class was won by Pride of Joluca, a Furstenball filly out of I'm Danciera van de Biebosschen (by Dancier). She ranked ahead of Christiane Goegebeur's filly Pippa van het Westhof (by Fursten-Look x Romeo).

The 1-year old filly yearling class was won by Pride of Joluca's full sisters, Q-Furst of Joluca (by Furstenball x Dancier). She edged out Luc Vandevelde's yearling Qubini (by Fursten-Look x Rubinstein).

In the 4-year old division, Heidi Vanroelen's Noblesse Oblige (by Sir Donovan x Laredo) bested the field of two mares, ahead of Evelin de Vidts' N-Danciana van de Biebosschen (by Dancier x Don Frederico).

The mature mare class for 5 and 6-year olds was won by Miss Dior van den Bruel. She is by Special Agent Amour out of Esthee Fravanca (by Florestan) and bred by Blockx-Vansweevelt. Miss Dior edged out Elfenmärchen (by Diamond Hit x De Niro) for the trophy.

At the end of the day the BWP judges proclaimed the mares, who were "Best in Show" in the dressage division. Both Miss Dior van den Bruel and Obina van de Kampert received that title.

Complete results here.

Related Links
Irish Coffee, Belaggio, Aragon, Kastar Hof ter Zeedycke D Win the 2017 Belgian Young Horse Championships
Ons Noud, Dressage Champion of the 2017 Belgian Warmblood Stallion Licensing
Naxcel V Named Champion of the 2016 Belgian Warmblood Stallion Licensing