Belgian Team Selected for 2022 European Pony Championships

Mon, 07/11/2022 - 11:20
Emilie Herweyers and (Steendieks) La Perla at the 2022 Belgian Pony Championships in Lier :: Photo © Digishots

The Belgian Equestrian Federation (KBRSF) has announced the team that will represent Belgium at the 2022 European Pony Championships in Strzegom, Poland, on 2 - 7 August 2022. 

Belgian pony team captain Alain Rauw selected a team of three experienced riders and one newcomer.

Special dispensation had to be requested for the selection of team pony Lesch La Perla (by Morgenstern Dalai x FS Chambertin, bred by Gestut Steendiek), who entered the show scene late spring and produced only one CDI start in Grote Brogel). The pair scored 69.381% in the team test. They were also reserve champions at the 2022 Belgian Pony Championships in May, scoring three times over 70%.

The Belgian team includes:

  • Liezel Everars (14) - Fs Capelli De Niro (RHEIN, by FS Champion de luxe x FS Don’t Worry) - owner:  Josy Everars
  • Emilie Herweyers (15) - Lesch La Perla (WESTF, by Morgenstern Dalai x FS Chambertin) - owner:  Herweyers Geert & Baeyens TInne
    reserve pony: Don’t Dream WE
  • Elisabeth Leduc (12) - Campsterhoven’s Baldato (NWPCS, by Orchard Boginov x Vita Nova’s Golden Boy) - owner:   Leduc Edouard & Annemie Pievoets
  • Anna Peeters (12) - Balotelli (HANN, by Benetton S x Sweet dream SF) - owner:  James Peeters

Three reserves have been named:

  • Angelina Hermans (16) - Valerion (KWPN, by Valerion x Orchard D’Avranches ) - owner:  Veronique Thijs
  • Manon Pauwels (15) - Schierensees Midnight Blue (DSP, by Marillion x Highway N) - owner:  Ilse Andries
  • Sophia Leo (13) - Biebosschen Dandy Lion (HOLST, by WES Don Dolino x Dornik B) - owner:  Els Cooremans

Photo © Digishots

Related Link
Eurodressage Coverage of the 2022 European Pony Championships