Finalists Known for the 2020 Nurnberger Burgpokal in Frankfurt

Wed, 11/04/2020 - 10:54
Marcus Hermes and Hugo FH at the 2020 Nurnberger Burgpokal qualifier in Verden :: Photo © LL-foto

With the twelve qualification events for the 2020 Nurnberger Burgpokal wrapping up in Ankum, Germany, on 29 October - 1 November 2020, the twelve finalists are know. 

The 2020 Nurnberger Burgpokal qualifiers were planned to kick off at Horses & Dreams in Hagen in April, but the corona pandemic postponed the circuit by two months.

The Nurnberger Burgpokal is the German Developing Prix St Georges Horse Championship with finals held at the CDI-W Frankfurt on 17 - 20 December 2020.

The first qualifier was hosted at Gestut Sprehe in Essen-Herbergen on 10 - 14 June 2020 June and the last in Ankum on 1 November 2020. 

The lowest qualification score in a Prix St. Georges Special test was 73,455%, the highest was 77,366%.

Hermes and Hugo Withdrawn from Finals

Of one finalist it is already known now that they will not be competing at the Finals in Frankfurt. The winners of the Balve qualifier - Marcus Hermes and the 8-year old Dutch warmblood Hugo FH (by Spielberg x San Remo) - are no longer a combination.

Hermes handed in his resignation as head rider at Freiberger Hof. He was supposed to stay on the job until 31 December 2020 and ride the Finals with Hugo as a nice ending of his six-year tenure. However Hugo has immediately been allocated to the owner's daughter, Lucie-Anouk. Hermes was also supposed to ride the second German selection trial for the World Young Horse Championships (to be held in December) on Von Herzen, but did not go to Warendorf either. 

"Lucie is going to compete Hugo and Pinou is taking over the ride of Von Herzen," Hermes told Eurodressage. "These horses are made for Junior/Young Riders Tour. They have a super potential and the best character you can wish for! I think they will have a great future and wish them both the best of luck with these amazing horses!"

The combination which will take over Hermes/Hugo's spot has not yet been announced


The 2020 Nurnberger Burgpokal finalists are: 

  • Essen-Herbergen: Isabel Freese and Fürsten-Look (74,585%)
  • Kronberg: Matthias Alexander Rath and Destacado (76,341%)
  • Bettenrode: Dorothee Schneider and Villeneuve (77,220%)
  • Darmstadt: Dorothee Schneider and Sisters Act von Rosencarree (77,122%
  • Verden: Isabel Freese and Top Gear (77,317%)
  • Donaueschingen: Jana Schrödter and Frau Holle (74,512%)
  • Dorsten: Stefanie Wolf and Matchball (77,073%)
  • Balve: Marcus Hermes and Hugo (75,122%)
  • Ludwigsburg: Dorothee Schneider and Lordswood Dancing Diamond (77,366%)
  • Schenefeld: Emma Kanerva and Mist of Titanium (75,634%)
  • Ising-Chiemsee: Charlott-Maria Schürmann and Simsalabim (73,455%)
  • Ankum: Malin Wahlkamp-Nilsson and Dedale de Hus (76,26%)

Photo © LL-foto

Related Links
New Qualification Dates and Venues for 2020 Nurnberger Burgpokal Set
Total Hope Wins the 2019 Nurnberger Burgpokal Final for Developing PSG Horses
First Romance Wins the 2018 Nurnberger Burgpokal Final for Developing PSG Horses
QC Flamboyant Wins the 2017 Nurnberger Burgpokal Final for Developing PSG Horses
Vitalis Wins the 2016 Nurnberger Burgpokal Finals for Developing Prix St Georges Horses 
Dorothee Schneider and Santiago Win 2015 Nurnberger Burgpokal Finals
Rath and Samba King Win 2014 Nurnberger Burgpokal Finals
Beatrice Buchwald and Weihegold OLD Win 2013 Nurnberger Burgpokal Final
Schurmann and Burlington Secure Victory in 2012 Nurnberger Burgpokal Finals
Desperado OLD Wins 2011 Nurnberger Burgpokal Finals
Meyer zu Strohen and Rassolini Win 2010 Nurnberger Burgpokal Finals in Frankfurt
Blind Date, 2009 Nurnberger Burgpokal Winner
Victoria Max-Theurer and Augustin Win the 2007 Nurnberg Burgpokal Finals
Comic Hilltop FRH Wins 2006 Nurnberg Burgpokal Finals
Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff and Wahajama Unicef win 2002 Nurnberger Burgpokal
Cockney, 1999 Nurnberger Burgpokal Winner