Rothenberger Withdraws Farrington from 2023 Piaff Forderpreis Finals

Mon, 11/13/2023 - 17:30
Semmieke Rothenberger and Farrington at the 2023 European Under 25 Championships :: Photo © Astrid Appels

Semmieke Rothenberger has announced her withdrawal from the 2023 Piaff Forderpreis Finals which are taking place this week at the CDI-W Stuttgart on 15 - 19 November 2023.

The Piaff Forderpreis is a German Under 25 show circuit with four selection trials (Mannheim, Balve, Verden and Ludwigsburg)  held in spring and summer and the Finals in Stuttgart.  The participants to the qualifiers are decided at a training seminar and selection trial held in Warendorf in February. Approximately 15 riders are selected at the seminar to compete in the qualifiers and just 8 are invited to the finals in Stuttgart.

Rothenberger won the 2021 Piaff Forderpreis Finals on Flanell, but this year was riding them with the 13-year old Dutch warmblood Farrington (by Jazz x Samba Hit x Ramiro Z). The pair already won team gold at the 2023 European Under 25 Championships in Pilisjaszfalu last summer, but were eliminated in the short Grand Prix. More bad luck now as they can't compete in Stuttgart either.

"Horses are fascinating, but also very sensitive beings," Semmieke took to Instagram. "Unfortunately, Farrie spooked on the daily walk and ran against a post with his shoulder. He got a bruise in the process. He’s not lame but he’s naturally uncomfortable with the swelling. Out of consideration and love for Farrie, I have decided to withdrawn from the Piaff Forderpreis final and give Farrie peace of mind. It is of course very unfortunate because he is in great shape but the well-being of Farrie is always the first!"

Seven riders remain for the Finals. They are Luca Collin (Ferrero D), Felicitas Hendricks (Drombusch), Paulina Holzknecht (Entertainer Win T), Anna Schölermann (Bon Scolari, Triple A), Victoria Marie Schönhofen (Zack Zack Vs), Thomas Trischberger (Liverpool), and Lia Welschof (First Class, GB Dolcino).

Photo © Petra Kerschbaum

Related Links
Semmieke Rothenberger Wins 2023 Piaff Forderpreis Selection Trial, Thirteen Qualified for Show Circuit
Helen Erbe Wins 2022 Piaff Förderpreis Finals in Stuttgart
Semmieke Rothenberger Wins 2021 Piaff Forderpreis Finals for German U25 Riders
Ann-Kathrin Lindner Wins 2020 Piaff Förderpreis Finals for German U25 Riders
Bianca Nowag Wins 2019 Piaff Förderpreis Finals in Stuttgart
Westendarp Wins 2019 Piaff Forderpreis Selection Trial, Sixteen Riders Qualified for 2016 Show Circuit
Jil-Marielle Becks Wins 2018 Piaff Förderpreis Finals in Stuttgart
Lisa Maria Klossinger Wins 2017 Piaff Forderpreis Finals
Franziska Stieglmaier Wins 2016 Piaff Forderpreis Finals for German Under 25 Riders
Sanneke Rothenberger Wins 2015 Piaff Forderpreis Finals for German Under 25 Riders 
Schurmann Wins 2014 Piaff Forderpreis Finals for German Under 25 Riders
Nadine Husenbeth Wins 2013 Piaff Forderpreis Finals at CDI-W Stuttgart
Stella Charlott Roth Wins 2012 Piaff Forderpreis Finals
Sprehe Defeats Favourite Engelen in 2009 Piaff Forderpreis Finals
Matthias Alexander Rath Wins 2006 Piaff Forderpreis
Ellen Schulten-Baumer Wins First Ever Piaff Forderpreis at 2001 CDI Stuttgart