Valesco, Recipient of the 2021 Otto Lörke Prize

Sun, 12/26/2021 - 11:53
Fabienne Lutkemeier on Valesco at the 2021 CDIO Aachen :: Photo © Astrid Appels

Fabienne Lutkemeier-Müller's rising Grand Prix horse Valesco is the recipient of the 2021 Otto Lörke prize. 

The Otto Lörke prize is annually bestowed upon the most successful rising Grand Prix horses in Germany of the year.  The prize is awarded to Grand Prix horses between the ages of 8 - 10. The horse, trainer and owner receive special recognition from the German Olympic Equestrian Committee (DOKR) and Liselott Schindling Foundation. 

The prize recipient is usually honoured at the CDI Stuttgart in November, but in this second corona year the moment was moved to the Louisdor Cup Finals at the CDN Kronberg.


The 10-year old Valesco is a Westfalian gelding by Vitalis out of Dakini (by Douceur x Florestan x Wenzel II). He is bred by Karl Niemann.

Owned by Gina Capellmann-Lütkemeier, the liver chestnut  was first competed as a three year old by Christiane Ulmker. Capellmann discovered amd bought him for 80,000 euro that same year at the 2014 Westfalian Autumn Elite auction.  Fabienne began competing him as a 5-year old in 2016.

Valesco made his international show debut in October 2019 at small tour level in Herning, and his international Grand Prix debut this year at the CDI Herzlake, followed by the CDI Aachen, where he posted 74.174 in the Grand Prix and 77.638% in the Special.

At the end of the year, he was "only" third in the 2021 Louisdor Cup finals in Kronberg, where the Otto Lorke Prize was also announced. He finished behind Total Hope and barn mate Valencia As.

"Valesco has a huge amount of strengths but he's also a bit of a rascal, which amazes me each time," said Fabienne. "I always said that one day he'll flip that switch from being a rascal to one I can rely on. In Aachen he showed that he can do it. He's a grandiose horse and I'm looking forward to the future."

35th Time

This year the Otto Lörke Prize was awarded for the 34th time. Previous Otto Lörke recipients are Satchmo, Bonaparte, Elvis VA, Chacomo, Farbenfroh, Rusty, Grunox, Gigolo, Goldstern, Rembrandt, Bella Rose and Showtime FRH.

Photo © Astrid Appels

Related Links
Eurodressage Photo Database: Valesco
Quantaz Wins 2020 Otto Lörke Prize
Escolar and Famoso Win 2019 Otto Lörke Prize
Faustus Wins the 2018 Otto Lörke Prize
Fabregaz and Heuberger TSF Win 2016 Otto Lorke Prize
Cosmo, Showtime, Emilio Win 2015 Otto Lorke Prize 
St. Emilion, Zaire, Weihegold Win 2014 Otto Lorke Prize
Dresden Mann and Bella Rose Win 2013 Otto Lorke Prize
Diva Royal Wins 2012 Otto Lorke Prize
Don Johnson and Desperados Win 2011 Otto Lorke Prize
Isabell Werth's El Santo NRW Wins 2010 Otto Lorke Prize
Balkenhol's Dablino Wins 2009 Otto Lörke Prize
Ulla Salzgeber and Herzruf's Erbe Win 2008 Otto-Lörke Prize
Monica Theodorescu's Whisper Wins the 2007 Otto Lörke Preis
Elvis VA Wins the 2005 Otto Lörke Prize
Alexandra Simons-De Ridder's Wellington Wins 2004 Otto Lorke Preis
Isabell Werth's Aleppo S OLD Wins 1999 Otto Lorke Preis 
Isabell Werth's Agnelli FRH Wins 2000 Otto Lorke Preis
Ann Kathrin Linsenhoff's Renoir R Wins 2001 Otto Lorke Preis 
2002 Otto Lorke Preis for Heike Kemmer and Ellen Schulten Baumer