Ostara ST-J Named 2022 KWPN Mare Champion

Thu, 08/18/2022 - 09:40
Ostara ST-J :: Photo © Jacob Melissen for KWPN

Ostara ST-J was named the champion of the 2022 KWPN Mare Championships in Ermelo, the Netherlands, on 5 August 2022.

Judges Toine Hoefs, Johan Hamminga and Floor Dröge invited no less than 14 mares into the champion's ring to vie for the title of KWPN Mare of the Year. 

The black beauty Ostara ST-J was the favourite of the public as well as the judges and grabbed that prestigiouys title. Sired by Dream Boy and out of elite mare Havana (by Totilas), she is bred by Grietje and Hans Jansen and their daughter Welmoed from Joppe, The Netherlands. Ostara was the Brabant regional champion and in Ermelo took home the national title. 

"This is a very nice modelled mare with strong connections in the body and an uphill way of moving. She has a very good walk, moves with much shoulder freedom and has a strong hind leg usage. A very complete champion," said Toine Hoefs. 

Three chestnut mares followed in Ostara's wake, all prepared for the National Mare Show by Marcel and Tamara van Manen. The filly Once for All Swing (by All at Once out of elite mare Zuchero Swing (by Krack C) was named the reserve champion. She is bred by J. Eschauzier and E. Schreutelkamp and owned by K. Ridderhof-Pols. 

"She's a very well modelled, long-line mare with a lightfooted and uphill way of moving," said Hoefs. 

The bronze spot went to O.Cynola M, a Jerveaux offspring out of elite mare Cynola M (by Flemmingh), bred by K. Mol and owned by Australian Bennet Conn. 

"This more than adequately developed mare convinced with her good walk and lightfooted way of moving. To beat her two predecessors she should have been a bit more fully modelled," Hoefs commented. 

Photo © Jacob Melissen

Results - 2022 KWPN Mare Championship

  • 1. Ostara St-j (by Dream Boy X Totilas) - Breeder & Owner:  J, W & M Jansen
  • 2. Once for All Swing (by All at Once X Krack C ) - Breeder & Owner:  K Ridderhof-pols 
  • 3. O. Cynola M (by Jerveaux X Flemmingh) - Breeder: K. Mol - Owner: Bennet Conn
  • 4. Olivia Marein E (by Blue Hors Zackerey X Charmeur) - Breeder & Owner:  Droomhoeve 
  • 5. Olivia Karla (by Franklin X Vivaldi ) - Breeder & Owner: M. Castein 
  • 6. Oriente Van De Jacobshoeve (by Tørveslettens Sylvester X Salut Le Bon) - Breeder: W Luyten - Owner: A Luyten
  • 7. Olita (by Kadans X Rousseau) - Breeder & Owner:  G.j. Rijper
  • 8. Ovarieta Texel (by Toto Jr. X Ferro) - Breeder & Owner:  Probarn Bv
  • 9. Ociana (by For Romance X Tuschinski) - Breeder & Owner:  Fam. Klinkhamer
  • 10. Olympia W (by Ebony X Blue Hors Zatchmo) - Breeder & Owner:  Stal Laarakkers 
  • 11. Ormante D (by Dream Boy X Bretton Woods) - Breeder & Owner:  J. & H Dielissen
  • 12. Olympia B (by Ebony X De Niro) - Breeder & Owner:  Comb. Bleeker
  • 13. Orylinda (by Blue Hors Zackerey X Negro) - Breeder & Owner:  Stal 104
  • 14. Ostara Reina Vdj (by In Style X Ub 40) - Breeder:  P.h. Van Der Jagt

Related Links
Niana V.O.D. Named 2021 KWPN Mare Champion
Magna Charta Named 2020 KWPN Mare Champion
Lolana Named 2019 KWPN Mare Champion
Kiss Me Set Named 2018 KWPN Mare Champion
Jatilinda Named 2017 KWPN Mare Champion
Iveniz Texel Named 2016 KWPN Mare Champion
Heliana VOD Named 2015 KWPN Mare Champion
Gamante D Named 2014 KWPN Mare Champion
Flieka Wins 2013 KWPN Mare Championship
Eskara de Jeu Wins 2012 KWPN Mare Championship
D.Obertje Proclaimed 2011 KWPN Mare Champion of the Year
Crisjena Wins 2010 KWPN Mare Championship
Brooklyn Wins 2009 KWPN Mare Championship