Phoenix-Utopia RS2 Named 2023 KWPN Mare Champion

Mon, 08/14/2023 - 13:15
Phoenix-Utopia RS2 is the 2023 KWPN Mare Champion :: Photo © Jacob Melissen for KWPN

The black Phoenix-Utopia RS2 was named the champion of the 2023 KWPN Mare Championships in Ermelo, the Netherlands, on 11 August 2023.

As the favourite for the title, the black bested the field of mares that was invited to the champion's ring. Judges Marian Dorresteijn beoordeelde, Floor Dröge, and German guest judge André Hahn did the sorting. 

Phoenix-Utopia RS2 (by Jameson out of Wiona-Utopia (by San Remo)) is bred and owned by Saskia and Jacques Lemmens of RS2 Dressage. She follows in her dam's footsteps, who was the 2006 KWPN Mare Champion. Phoenix-Utopia was already Gelderland regional champion before heading to the Nationals in Ermelo.

"This mare is a real queen. She is very well developed, uphill built and with a beautiful forehand," said judge Marian Dorresteijn. "She moves with incredible power, cadence and ease. She showed a correct walk and at the regional inspection already made a big impression in canter. We took this into consideration in our verdict."

Puma TC (by Liverpool x United) was named reserve champion. Bred and owned by Tim Coomans she is the half sister to the licensed stallion Blue Hors Monte Carlo (by Dream Boy). 

"This youthful, correctly built mare, convinces time and again with her lightfooted, elegant trot in which she shows much balance and self carriage," said Dorresteijn. 

The regional champion of Utrecht finished third: Provini VDP (by King Karim x OO Seven), bred by Petty van Dijk-Vos. 

"A very correctly modelled mare with a nice body and fantastic walk," said Dorresteijn. "She uses her body well, has much cadence and overstep. Her trot is also very good, showing a lot of ease, self carriage, technique in her legs and power from behind."

Results - 2023 KWPN Mare Championship
  • 1. Phoenix-utopia Rs2 (by Jameson   X San Remo) -  Breeder & Owner: Rs2 Dressage 
  • 2. Puma Tc (by Liverpool Tc X United) -  Breeder & Owner: Tim Coomans 
  • 3. Provini Vdp (by King Karim X Oo Seven) -  Breeder & Owner: Petty Van Dijk-vos 
  • 4. Primalifia Blue (by Bordeaux X Rhodium) -  Breeder: P.c. Blaauw, Hall - Owners: Brinkman & E Vreeswijk
  • 5. Phatilinda Taonga (by Cum Laude X All at Once) -  Breeder & Owner: Stal 104
  • 6. Prada Boa T (by Lennox U.s. X Florencio) -  Breeder & Owner: A. Toonen Arts
  • 7. Parlani Mvh (by Kjento X Grand Galaxy Win) -  Breeder & Owner: S. 't Mannetje
  • 8. Perfect Dance (by D'avie X Glock's Toto Jr.) -  Breeder & Owner: R.m. Van Ruitenbeek - Owner: C Van Mourik
  • 9. Priviola (by Intro K X Chippendale) -  Breeder & Owner: Femke De Laat - Owner: Ad Valk
  • 10. Prelana T (by Le Formidable X Ampère ) -  Breeder & Owner: E. Twint De Boer
  • 11. Primlesca H (by Finest Selection X Dark Pleasure) -  Breeder & Owner: R. Van Wolfswinkel
  • 12. Party Time S (by Le Formidable X Fürstenball) -  Breeder & Owner: Ruediger of Sonnenberg Farm, USA

Related Links
Ostara ST-J Named 2022 KWPN Mare Champion
Niana V.O.D. Named 2021 KWPN Mare Champion
Magna Charta Named 2020 KWPN Mare Champion
Lolana Named 2019 KWPN Mare Champion
Kiss Me Set Named 2018 KWPN Mare Champion
Jatilinda Named 2017 KWPN Mare Champion
Iveniz Texel Named 2016 KWPN Mare Champion
Heliana VOD Named 2015 KWPN Mare Champion
Gamante D Named 2014 KWPN Mare Champion
Flieka Wins 2013 KWPN Mare Championship
Eskara de Jeu Wins 2012 KWPN Mare Championship
D.Obertje Proclaimed 2011 KWPN Mare Champion of the Year
Crisjena Wins 2010 KWPN Mare Championship
Brooklyn Wins 2009 KWPN Mare Championship