McLaren, Las Vegas, Taminiau Win Third Leg of 2021-2022 KWPN Stallion Competition

Wed, 01/05/2022 - 17:02
2021-2022 KWPN Stallion Competition
Hans Peter Minderhoud and Taminiau at the 2022 KWPN Stallion Competition leg in Exloo :: Photo © Digishots

The 5-year old McLaren, 6-year old Las Vegas, and the 7-year old Taminiau were the repeat winners in the third and final leg of the 2021-2022 KWPN Stallion Competition of which the finals will be held at the 2022 KWPN Stallion Licensing in Ermelo.

The third qualifier took place in Exloo instead of Zuidbroek and it was the identical trio of stallions that won yet again.

The KWPN Stallion Competition is not mandatory of Dutch warmblood licensed stallions. I's a more an opportunity to give young colts some ring experience and the breeders to see them in action. 

The Finals are scheduled for 5 February 2022 and will happen behind closed doors. The event will be streamed live.

L-level: McLaren

The L-level division for rising 5-year olds was judged by Monique Peutz and Veronique Roerink and they saw the winner in Dinja van Liere aboard the German bred McLaren (by Morricone x Sir Donnerhall). Owned by Reesink Horses, the bay scored a total of 88 points with an 8 for walk, 9 for trot, 8.5 for canter, 9.5 for harmony and 9 for overall impression. 

Van Liere also captured second place aboard Turfhorst and Reesink's Dutch bred Mauro (by Zonik x Negro). He finished on a total of 85 points with a 9 for walk, 8.5 for trot, 8 for canter, and 8.5 for harmony and general impression. The NRPS licensed stallion Gorgeous Black Art (by Toto Jr x Rubiquil) also earned 85 points but placed third. Owned by Stable Hexagon and presented by Hungarian Benedek Pachl, this black got 8 for walk, 8.5 for trot, 8.5 for canter, 9 for harmony and 8.5 for general impression. 

M-level: Las Vegas

Franka Loos and the tall Dutch warmblood stallion Las Vegas (by Ferdeaux x Wynton) were the high scorers of the day with 91 points. Owned by Nico Witte and De Dalhoeve, the bright bay stallion got 8.5 for walk, 9.5 for trot and canter and 9 for harmony and general impression. 

Dinja van Liere finished second on Iron Spring Farm's KWPN bred Lowlands (by Millennium x Donnerball) with 86 points. The charming black got 9 for walk, 8.5 for trot, 8 for canter, 9 for harmony and 8.5 for overall impression. Jill Bogers and Uytert & Schockemöhle's Lennox U.S. (by Grand Galaxy Win x Rousseau) were third with 85 points. He got 8 for walk, 8.5 for trot and canter, 9 for harmony and 8.5 for overall impression. 

Z-level: Taminiau

The smallest class, traditionally, is the Z-level division and in Exloo there were four combinations for it. 

Hans Peter Minderhoud and Gaston Glock's KWPN bred Taminiau (by Toto Jr) topped the board with 89 points. The stallion, who is a mirror reflection of his sire, got 8.5 for walk, 9 for trot, canter, harmony and overall impression. 

Marieke van der Putten and Saskia Lemmens' KWPN bred Jameson (by Zack x Negro) finished second with 82 points. He got 7 for walk, 9.5 for trot, 8.5 for canter, 7.5 for harmony and 8.5 for overall impression. Thamar Zweistra landed her second third place in Exloo, this time aboard Kaygo (by Capri Sonne Jr x Westpoint) with 81 points. He got 9 for walk, 8 for trot, 7.5 for canter and 8 for harmony and overall impression.

Photo © Digishots

Results - 2021 KWPN Stallion Competition Qualifier - Exloo


  • 1. Dinja van Liere - McLaren (by Morricone x Sir Donnerhall) 88
  • 2. Dinja van Liere - Mauro (by Zonik x Negro) - 85
  • 3. Benedek Pachl - Gorgeous Black Art (by Toto jr x Rubiquil) - 85
  • 4. Jessica Lynn Thomas - Maddox Mart (by Hennessy x Bordeaux) - 83
  • 5. Bart Veeze - Merlot (by Bordeaux x Florencio)  - 79
  • 6. Franka Loos - Mowgli VOD (by Desperado x Jazz) - 78
  • 7. Maxime van der Vlist - Mister Diamond (by Sir Donnerhall x First Final) - 77
  • 8. Febe van Zwambagt - Bloomberg (by Bon Coeur x Don Index) - 74


  • 1.  Franka Loos - Las Vegas (by Ferdeaux x Wynton) - 91
  • 2. Dinja van Liere - Lowlands (by Millennium x Donnerball) - 86
  • 3. Jill Bogers - Lennox US (by Grand Galaxy Win x Rousseau) - 85
  • 4. Adelinde Cornelissen - Lloyd (by Governor x Charmeur) - 80
  • 4. Danielle Heijkoop - Livius (by Bordeaux x Vivaldi) - 80
  • 6. Bart Veeze - First Date (by Furstenball x Dancier) - 78
  • 7. Saskia Poel - Le Formidable (by Bordeaux x Ferro) - 76
  • 8. Alvaro Donesa de Olveira - Lewis (by Grand Galaxy Win x Uphill) - 74
  • Charlotte Fry - Lantanas (by Sir Donnerhall x Hemingway) - ELI


  • 1.  Hans Peter Minderhoud - Taminiau (by Toto Jr x Sandro Hit) - 89
  • 2. Marieke van der Putten - Jameson (by Zack x Negro ) - 82
  • 3. Thamar Zweistra - Kaygo (by Capri Sonne Jr x Westpoint) - 81
  • 4. Kirsten Brouwer - Jheronimus (by Dream Boy x Jazz) - 78

Detailed scores here

Related Links
McLaren, Las Vegas, Taminiau Win Second Leg of 2021-2022 KWPN Stallion Competition
McLaren, Las Vegas, Taminiau Win First Leg of 2021-2022 KWPN Stallion Competition

Previous Winners
Las Vegas and Kjento, High Scorers in 2021 KWPN Stallion Competition Finals Alternative
King Karim, Jameson, Imposantos Win 2020 KWPN Stallion Competition Finals
Jameson, Imposantos, Hermes Win 2019 KWPN Stallion Competition Finals
Imposantos, Total U.S., Gunner KS Win 2018 KWPN Stallion Competition
Trafalgar, Toto Jr, Four Legends Win 2017 KWPN Stallion Competition Finals
Toto Jr, Ferdeaux, and Electron Win 2015-2016 KWPN Stallion Competition Finals
El Capone, Desperado, Cupido Win 2013-2014 KWPN Stallion Competition
Desperado, Charmeur, Bordeaux Win 2012-2013 KWPN Stallion Competition Finals
Chippendale, Bon Bravour, and Apache Win 2011-2012 KWPN Stallion Competition
Bon Bravour, Amazing Star and Zhivago Win 2011 KWPN Stallion Competition Finals
Andretti, Zhivago and Wynton Win 2010 KWPN Stallion Competition
Zizi Top, Wynton and Vivaldi Win 2009 KWPN Stallion Competition
Wynton, Johnson, Dreamcatcher Win 2008 KWPN Stallion Competition Finals
Uptown, Tolando and Florencio Win 2006 KWPN/KNHS Stallion Competition Finals
Sandreo, Scandic and Rhodium Win 2005 KWPN/KNHS Stallion Competition Finals
Scandic, Ro-Lex and Prestige VDL 2004 KWPN Stallion Competition Winners
Rousseau, Paddox and Rubels Win 2003 KNHS/KWPN Stallion Competition